Make your own free website on
The 2006 Tribospec / Sunoco Lubricants Ontario Legends Series got off to a rough start Saturday with a 15 car field at Peterborough Speedway.
The feature race got underway when, on the third lap, coming out of turn four, Rob Degeer (# 37 H B Cycle) slowed for a lap car leaving Bruce Grimes (#88 Tascor Construction) with no place to go but up the track and right up and over Steve Navratil (# 55 Security Muffler) sending both the 55 and 88 hard into the front stretch wall right in front of the grand stands and ending Steve's and Bruce's night.
The red flag came out while the drivers where checked out and the cars removed. Both drivers were OK.
On the restart Rob Degeer got a jump with Andy Warbutton (#24 High Low Home Inspections), the defending champ, right on his back bumper. Warbutton tried to pass Degeer on the high side several times without success but on about lap 8, coming out of turn 2, Degeer left a hole just big enough for Warbutton to complete the pass. Warbutton was opening up a sizeable lead until a debris caution came out when Nicole Yarrow (#8 Hutchinson Fuels) lost her muffler.
On the restart 2 cars got together in turn 2 and the caution came out one again and every one slowed down except for Kevin Fletcher (#1 Boadways Well Drilling) who ran into Bill Mason (# 4 Ipone) ending Kevin's night.
As the race restarted Degeer hounded Warbutton for the next few laps but Warbutton fended him off for the first win of 2006. Rob Degeer, Bill Mason, Frank Johnston and Adam Cuthbertson rounded out the top five.
The heats had Kevin Fletcher, and Andy Warbutton with one win each and Steve Navratil with 2.
The Tribospec / Sunoco Lubricants Ontario Legends return to Peterborough Speedway for Fan Appreciation Night, May 6th" The Fans will be able to complete a ballot to vote for The Ontario Legends "BEST LOOKING CAR" and each ballot will go into a draw for a NASCAR Prize.